Life Savors

By osuzanna

Back to the Gardens

It's amazing how the botanical gardens change every week or two.  There are lots of tulips, daffodils, hyacinths, hellebores and still some flowering trees although most are starting to go brown. The flowering quince of a week ago are still looking gorgeous. 

I met a lovely woman at the gardens and we chatted for quite a while.  We began by talking about camera gear and photography and then branched off to politics, the war, poetry and literature.  She is a children's book author, illustrator and publisher and teaches creative writing to high schoolers.  She writes a newsletter about children's books to which I will now  subscribe as I am always looking for books for my grandchildren. It was such a nice break from much of the terrible news of the day. 

As I drove home I listened to our new Supreme Court Justice's speech from the White House.  What an amazing story and what an incredible Associate Justice she will be.  

Number three son has come down with Covid after returning from an 8 day business trip.  He has moved into a hotel as they are trying to keep our one year old granddaughter safe.  Yesterday, his wife tested positive as well, but she is asymptomatic and is wearing a mask in the house with the baby.  So many people are getting it and everyone just goes about their business as if the pandemic is over.  Granted most of the cases are very mild, but I worry that we are headed for another surge.  The cases in our highly vaccinated county have gone up 100% in the last 2 weeks.  

It was Anni's birthday this week, and I understand it was a big one.  I was thinking of her today as I looked for a candidate for Flower Friday.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.