After the Storm

We had nonstop rain yesterday, heavy rain.
Until in the afternoon when the rain changed to snow. In the evening the streets were already white (first surprise). Around 9 pm we had thunder and lightning (second surprise) and the heaviest snowfall I've seen in years - huge snowflakes (third surprise).
 
The main photo is the view at 8 am in the morning. It doesn't look too bad here in the back yards.  Good it was a Saturday. The Autobahn was blocked and fire department and the police had a busy night and day.

First extra is the swing in the Kindergarten back yard. It gives an idea how much snow came down.
Second extra is a flat roof and I did like the snowy ripples.
Third extra is from last night - I tried to blip the lightning, but didn't work.

I had to leave the house at 11 am for my appointment for the tyre change (!!!). It wasn't easy to get the wet and heavy snow of the car. The wet snow on the side streets was veeeery slippery.
On my way to the garage I saw abandoned cars along the street, fallen trees (I touched one; saw it too late, was concentrating on the street and not on fallen trees on the side of the road - surprise again). 
I would have cancelled the tyre-change, but I had ordered new all-weather-tyres and saw the chance to test them on the first drive!

A walk in the afternoon; everything was dripping and flowing and most of the snow on the fields was gone (but not all). And - my luck - there was only one big fat cloud in the sky and it rained on me. I was soaked. Just what I needed with my still sore throat and cough.
As soon as I came home the sun came out again.

19:55; 6°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.