Inversnaid

Today we had a trip to RSPB Inversnaid on the East shore of Loch Lomond. It is quite remote and this was our first visit. Inversnaid Reserve is part of the Great Trossachs Forest Project and is an internationally important example of rare Atlantic oak woodland. There were very few birds to see but the scenery is beautiful, especially looking across the Loch to the Arrochar Hills.
On our way back from the walk we met a friendly little Robin who came very close, I love the way it balanced on this dry grass in the main. Next, in the first extra, we came across a lovely couple having a snooze at the water’s edge. The female mallard was on her nest on the shore and so well camouflaged I didn’t see her until I was quite close, I backed away as soon as I noticed her so as not to disturb them.
The second extra was the view across the Loch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.