Fly Away

A frosty morning and it was a good time to pick my tent hide up off the floor and re-erect it on the lawn after it had blown over yesterday. One of the poles had gone through the roof in the process so I'll have to mend it with some Gorilla tape.

Peeking out through the hide window in the glorious sun was lovely this morning with the white frost blanketing the ground. I could hear a green woodpecker yaffelling and an answering call of another in the distance. The robins were singing their hearts out in various corners of the garden and the ducks flew in for their morning Jacuzzi (I say that as there is a bubble maker in the bottom of the pond) though no sign of the deer that had bounded through early yesterday.

Both the woodies came in for food; this is the male and the female followed shortly afterwards. 

I hand weeded the terrace which was no means feat and weeded a flowerbed which had all the makings of a jungle if I hadn't done it. It's not taking much to tire me out and I am blaming Covid. 

Tilly sat with me all day except for the half hour in the hide and did seem chirpier in herself especially as she's mastered to a degree the cone round her head. It doesn't take much to spook her though and we have to be very careful around her with her bumping into things. 

The foxes are coming in later now with the days getting longer and it's getting harder to get a shot of them because of this.

I can't load up my Extra which was a blue tit in the foliage. Not sure why!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.