dfb24

By dfb24

Bee...

...long dead and dried up. I've been in such a funk the last few days--not feeling like doing anything--and falling asleep on the couch during the day, which I never do. So this morning, although I didn't feel like it, I made myself go out for a walk. When I got back home I made out Easter Cards for the twins & took them to the post office, then went to the library to return a CD. The library was hosting three rooms full of people selling crafts as well as bakery, so I meandered around and ended up buying some homemade jelly, a small loaf of chocolate-chocolate chip zucchini bread and a couple of Easter cookies for Mae and Noelia. The people at the tables were so friendly that I ended up really enjoying myself. After I got home & put my purchases away I went out to the garage and cleaned Tom's work-bench as well as the windows above it, all of which were covered in old spider webs and bug debris, which is where I found the dried up bee. As I was going back into the house, my sweet, 80-some year old next door neighbor came out with a baggie with 4 chocolate chip cookies in it--freshly baked--that she wanted to give me. She asked how I was doing, and told me if I needed anything to just call her. I told her that if SHE needed something SHE should call ME! LOL. She's amazing! Then I took a shower and went to church so I wouldn't have to go in the morning. When it came time for the sign of peace, the woman in the pew ahead of me turned around, and we were both so surprised! It was Toms' brother's ex-wife who I haven't seen in at least 20 years. She gave me a big hug, and after mass we walked out together. She told me how sorry she was about Tom's passing and how much she'd always liked him & his sense of humor. We had a nice talk. So all in all, it turned out to be a really nice day.  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.