Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Nuts

The nuthatch gets it's name from a habit of wedging nuts in the bark of a tree then splitting them with it's 'hatchet' like bill.

A quick safari back to Highnam RSPB Reserve first thing this morning to take advantage of the sunshine and glad I did as there is thick grey cloud billowing over now. It was incredibly quiet and peaceful with the sun peeking through warming the woodland and little pond where I was perched expectantly with the camera. I even spotted a couple of butterflies....how cool is that?!!

This little nuthatch was incredibly shy so I hardly dared breathe! He was fascinating to watch: he would take the seed or nut in his beak, bomb along to a tree, hop jerkily but nimbly up the bark, find a little hole, break and eat it then come down head first! The only British bird to regularly do so!!

As a rule they nest in holes usually about 2m up a tree liking mixed and deciduous woodland but will also use nest-boxes too filling the inside chamber with pine bark flakes.

You can't help but like his gorgeous colours, the 'go faster' black eye stripe leading from the long pointed bill and it's streamlined flying technique.

I was without internet from 7:00 last night till mid morning so am behind with my commenting or should I say 'more' behind with my commenting:)) Please bear with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.