River of Flowers

By doffy

Sunday: Along the Hedge & an Acer

I was up early this morning and it held the promise of a fine day.
MrD had brought 2 very fine leeks yesterday from the market so I cleaned them up & chopped them, crushed some garlic (quite a lot!) and fried them in a mixture of sunflower and olive oil. MrD, passing through the kitchen, said "Leek and Potato soup?" - I said "Yes" - that was his lunch sorted :-))
When the leeks & garlic had cooled down I filled ten small containers and put them in the freezer - these are my homemade “stock cubes”!
Remainder of the leeks & garlic became a vegetarian/gluten free pasta bake which was dinner this evening along with oven baked chunky potato wedges.
This morning I was watching 2 blackbirds running along the newly mown grass, they were pulling some very long earthworms out of the ground, and eating them.
Walking along the hedge I noticed that our 3 gooseberry bushes are full of flowers - there were wasps and bees feeding on them, no doubt the blackbirds will eat their share of fruit later in the summer :-))
The Acer is "the other one", I've had both of them for many years - I think they were from Morrisons and were scraggly little things when I bought them a dozen or more years ago.
Stay safe & healthy & happy everyone :-)
Nos da pawb / goodnight all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.