Old machinery

It has been a really long day, full on working in the garage, trying to sort through the mountains of engineering bits that dad left. In addition to a lathe, and pillar drill, there is an awful lot of muck, grease and bits that go back to the 1920’s. Dad never threw anything away, so for example I have found at least 2 sets of old car brake shoes (he did all work on his cars) why he kept the old ones I don’t know. I’ve filled boxes with electricals, and have emptied some cupboards as I sort. One trip to the tip with old oil cans full of old engine oil, a box of flourescent tubes and a mountain of electrical wire, plugs, sockets. Still more to go. It’s been productive but messy and exhausting. I now just have to find someone to take this lathe off my hands!

Was quite excited by the discovery of the plant growing frames which dad designed and built back in the 80’s. Sadly they didn’t make him his fortune, but he was always trying different things to try and make a bit of money - through autojumble sales or ads in magazines. Sound like anyone else you know? I definitely inherited the untidiness, but also the entrepreneurial side - and am about as successful or perhaps less so, with my ideas. Dad worked hard, and I think I do too. I had thought all of the grow bag frames had been sold so finding 6 still in boxes was exciting and I’m taking some home with me for the allotment for my mange tout I think. They are made of aluminium so are lightweight, but also break easily, and I do have one already which is tied together. So a nice reward for my hard work.

I finished at 6.30 and have just flaked out. I have found a local company who might be able to advise on the machines, so emailed them. Now heading upstairs with my greasy rough hands and black engrained nails. An early night for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.