pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

An indoors day

What a dismal weather day. If you didn’t have non-stop rain almost all day, then lucky you. Our garden you can paddle in - the clay soil means the water sits on the surface for ages.

We had a long lie in. As we are back to work tomorrow it was out last opportunity. Eventually getting up at 10. Yes, I know, I really did say 10 o’clock. So I told mum we were cooking brunch for 11 ( she was also still in bed) and we did a big fry up. That kept us all going all day!

Today’s project was the dolls house. Bought for Mollie when she was very small, as a kit, Jon had put it together back then (at least 20 years ago) but due to there being very simple directions, part was put together wrong. Anyway, she had played with it but we had never put in the stairs (due to the mistake) and had only decorated a couple of rooms. Today we had a family discussion (3/5 of the family) as Jon was keen to put it right. We decided to let him move the walls, and have also decided to put the second set of stairs in a new place. It meant Jon cutting a new hole and filling the old one. Too complicated to explain, but when it is sorted I will show you in a future blip. Mollie planned what the rooms will be and researched how they should be decorated. We have never really had anywhere for it to go since moving here, but it might be nice if Mollie can have it in her classroom when she gets one. It might be a good teaching aid if it is true to the period.

We put the remainder of yesterday’s beef into the slow cooker and made a curry for dinner, then nipped up to Homebase for a few bits. There I bumped into fellow blipper GracieG. She recognised me and politely said hello, but I stood racking my brains to think where I knew her from. She came to my rescue introducing herself, and of course then I realised! It is funny this blip community. I know very few people in Norfolk, even though I have lived here for 8 years now. But I have bumped into Gracie 3 times now - on a park and ride bus in Norwich on my way home from work a few years back, at the 1940’s weekend also on a bus, and now in Homebase. It was nice to see a familiar face - once I realised who she was. Especially as she always comments so positively on my blips! We had taken mum out with us to Homebase - her first outing since getting over her chest infection. It was good to have a short visit, without it tiring her too much.

Mollie prepared the remainder of the dinner and now we are watching the 2nd part of the Agatha Christie thing, having watched the first part on catch up earlier this evening. Why didn’t they ask Evans? We are enjoying it.

Back to work tomorrow:-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.