Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Little Crooked House

There was a crooked man, and he went a crooked mile, 
He found a crooked sixpence against a crooked stile;
He bought a crooked cat, which caught crooked mouse,
And they all lived together in a little crooked house.

       ~First recorded in print by James Orchard Halliwell in 1842

I googled the poem because the house brought it to mind when I took the photo.  I found this interesting information on Wikipedia:  "The crooked man is reputed to be the Scottish General Sir Alexander Leslie, who signed a covenant securing religious and political freedom for Scotland.  The 'crooked stile' in the poem was the alliance between the parliaments of England and Scotland, or the border between the two, depending on the source.  'They all lived together in a little crooked house' refers to the fact that the English and Scots had at last come to an agreement, despite the continuing great animosity between the two peoples, who nonetheless had to live with each other due to their common border."

I always thought Mother Goose wrote it! ;-))

I am grateful that I overcame my tiredness and spent the day working on reorganizing my den.  Lots more to go but I got a really good start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.