BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Salisbury and a Stressful Morning!

Today was going to be a bit of a challenge, simply because of circumstances and timing.  For one, every 2 weeks on a Monday, I have to process all the timecards and send the payroll for BG before 10 pm in the evening otherwise my team will not be paid.  Unfortunately, in unfortunate timing, we had also discovered a leak in our cold water pipes that was soaking into the bottom of the camper van.  We had a window of opportunity to take the van to Sandhurst, where the Camper Van people have a workshop and could fix the problem.  When I called, they said that I had to be there by 1:30 pm as their mechanic had to leave by 2 pm.  So, rushed to Under Pressure (rather appropriate name in the circumstances), and as I unfortunately spilled coffee on my laptop, had to negotiate every 10 seconds or so, the laptop shutting down on me while I tried to process the payroll, all the time aware that we needed to leave Sutton by 10:30 am to get to Sandhurst with a little time to spare.  
Half way down the M40 and someone had decided to breakdown and the motorway was reduced to one lane with a 3 mile tailback hardly moving.  I watched as the Satnav informed me that my ETA of 12:45 pm went to 1:00 pm then 1:15 pm, and then it was 1:30 pm and still hardly moving.  Thankfully we eventually started moving and it hovered around 1:30 pm for the next 30 miles until just outside Bracknell I stared in unbelief as a roadwork traffic light basically allowed just one car at our end to go before turning red again and letting 15 cars come the other way!  Having negotiated this bizarre hiccup, we eventually arrived just after 1:30 pm and the water leak turned out to be an extremely quick fix.  
The rest of the day was such a relaxing contrast as we headed to Salisbury and parked in the above field outside the city with a great view of Old Sarum and after a couple of glasses of wine and a cook in sauce dinner - finally been able to post this and the previous days' blips.  Feeling relaxed and grateful for what could have been a frustrating day, will probably sleep like a log tonight and look forward to a walk down the river into the city tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.