Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Run to the Mills

Thank you to my son for the bad pun - which in fact saved me from quoting Blake or Celine Dion)

This is Titanic Mill in Linthwaite (pronounced just as it looks), near Slaithwaite (pronounced Sla'wit))The Mill was constructed in 1911, the same year as the launch of the RMS Titanic. The grand opening was celebrated with a musical performance by the Linthwaite Band when several of its members were hoisted in a large bucket to a platform specially erected on top of the mill chimney 100 feet high.

This industrial giant, is now converted into apartments and a luxury spa. I once took the kids for a walk along the canal to see it, and they were very disappointed when they did not see Kate and Leo holding on to a piece of wood in the canal.

To take this shot I took a very round about route to the farm shop on Bolster Moor, then an even more round about route home via Scammonden Dam. I took the Scammonden photo in RAW format, but somehow I cannot seem to master the conversion process and my photos all look over-baked

We are all settled back into the school routine but the kitchen decorating meant take-out pizza for tea - I didn't get any complaints.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.