Baltimore (the original one)

A seriously dull and damp day, I had to nip down to Baltimore this morning to deliver some cards to the ferry as we have customers on Cape Clear Island. There was no one about at all. I then hit Skibbereen in need of a coffee. I had the most delicious but powerful brew at O Neill's, I could almost stand my spoon up in it!  I was then intrigued to see work was going on at the old shop (I have blipped it before but can't find it but see extra). It's been for sale for ages and I just love the look of it. Oh, the door was ajar. Well you know what I'm like and I was just peering in - well quite a lot of me was in actually - when I heard a  shout! The man was amused and told me all about it. He's got the job for renovation but the woman who owns it wants to keep everything original. Is the range still there?  I inquired. It was and I was allowed to clamber over bits of ceiling to inspect it. You will see from the extras that there's a fair amount of work to be done and the man was doing it all himself. You can't get young fellas to do this kind of thing nowadays apparently.
I then made some inquires at a printers re self-publishing.  Fintan was very helpful and will be providing a quote shortly. Back home I contacted another printer who were also very helpful, so quotes will soon be coming in. I fear it will be shocking.
I'm off out tonight to the book club - the first I've attended in two years. Tonight's book Small Things Like These by Claire Keegan, a wonderful book. I'll catch up tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.