Ledmore and Migdale woods

We did the local circuit again this morning (in fact I did most of it twice as I did it rapidly in the middle of the morning when I fancied a leg stretch), but our main walk was mid afternoon after I decided that I had made sufficient progress on the next project to be clear about where it is going. This is supposed to be (partly) a holiday. We’d scoped out some woodland walks yesterday evening, but I suggested at the spur of the moment that we would try Ledmore and Migdale woods. They are an absolute delight. We did a circuit called Honest George’s circuit named for George Dempster MP who was apparently a reforming landlord and tree enthusiast. It was a lovely walk, but involved quite a lot more uphill and muddy paths than we had reckoned with. Mr A declared himself quite outraged by the uphill, as he said I had promised him a flat walk. Well, up is good for him!

These gorgeous trees caught my eye when we stopped to admire a bench  (see extra) designed so you can rest whilst you watch for the red squirrels which have been released just here. We didn’t see any, but then we didn’t sit and rest on the bench. I think we will come back to this area for walks whilst we are staying up here. There’s plenty more to explore, such as the shores of Loch Migdale (also in the extras).

Back here, I plodded on for a little while with the piece of writing. I can see that I could well have a first draft done by close of play tomorrow, although I do have a couple of online meetings to attend tomorrow. But there’s no need to rush. I had given myself until the end of this week to get that piece of writing done, so I feel like I am well ahead of myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.