Dear Photo Diary

By rutherfordium

Ian

I first met Ian way back in 1999. I was 14 years old, and had just moved into Senior School. Ian was 16, in Lower Sixth form, and was well-known in music circles due to being an extremely talented organist. He walked into our music class one day, and my best friend whacked me with her elbow and said "I love him, I'm going to marry him!". I quite liked him too, but when your best friend declares marriage plans your hopes do die a bit.

A few days later, when my best friend was off sick (and I still feel a bit guilty about this!) I had a word with someone, who had a word with someone else, and before I knew it Ian had asked me out on a date. I think the fact that Lucy is still my best friend means that she forgave me! We had our first date in October 1999 and then had over 7 very happy years together, sharing a love of music (classical, musicals and 80s cheese), retro TV shows, trips to London, eating in nice restaurants and going for drives to nowhere in particular, amongst many other things.

We split up in 2007 and Ian is now happily married, still working as a musician and living in leafy South Belfast. We see each other about once a year if we're lucky, but we should really try to catch up more. He hates having his photo taken so he's probably very glad he didn't end up with me! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.