Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Mountain Hare

I climbed part of the way up Bleaklow in the Peak District this morning.

At 8:00am my intention was to get to the top, I even put up a flask of tea and made a sandwich & packed some biscuits (to plan ahead is out of character, I normally travel light)

I soon changed my mind as I made my way up as it was blowing a gale (awful) plus and I must admit it I didn't feel fit enough to keep going all the way there and back.

Birdwatching highlights - my first Swallows of the year, lovely male Wheatear that I played hide and seek with for a while but never got a got shot of him and Skylarks singing away loudly above the wind noise.

There were quite a number of Mountain Hare around some seemed to nearly have a summer coat but others still quite white - one, not this one was very white indeed.

I would have got a much better shot of this Hare if my new Peak District National Park cap had not blown away at just the wrong moment. It didn't bother the Hare but as I turned away to retrieve it - it took the opportunity to move off with another one that I hadn't even spotted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.