I am the law!

All our planning for today was based around one incorrect assumption, but, in the end, it didn't matter.

Today was the the occasion when Hannah enjoyed the much delayed ceremony at the Law Society recognising her (no longer) new status as a solicitor. Obviously, we wanted to celebrate with her, so the plan was that we would all go down to London, too.

If you have any experience of this type of event, e.g. university graduations, you'll know that you are given two tickets per family. And that's fine; the rest of you can sit in the pub and watch the live stream, which was our plan today. It was only at the eleventh hour that we thought to check that there was a live stream: there wasn't!

But plans were in place and we decided it didn't really matter; we still wanted to go down to London and be there for Hannah. So, this morning, the Minx, Charlie, Abi, and I took the train from Manchester to London. We split up briefly on arrival so that the Minx and I could have lunch with Ash, and then the Minx headed off to the Louise Bourgeois at the Heyward and I regrouped with the others at the Knights Templar, where we were joined by Milly, Hannah's mum, and Dan.

After a drink we proceeded down to the Law Society to take a few photos. My main picture, is of Hannah, naturally, and my Extra is of Charlie, Hannah, Dan, Milly, and Abi. 

Hannah's mum and Charlie took the tickets to the ceremony, while the rest of us bundled down to the South Bank, to be supportive, even if we weren't actually able to watch. (Charlie did send us some video later, though, so we did raise a glass at that point.)

As the afternoon progressed, the Minx returned from the exhibition and we were joined by my brother and then Ash, too, and on balance I'd say the day was a great success! And congratulations, Hannah. It doesn't take a ceremony to remind me how proud I am of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.