Substance

There are compilation albums of Joy Division and New Order's music, and, in classic Factory Records style, they are both called 'Substance'. 

The Joy Division one has eighteen tracks (plus an extra version of 'Love Will Tear Us Apart'), of which we were played ten tracks, this evening, and the New Order one has twelve A sides and twelve B sides, and naturally it was the A sides that Hooky played, tonight.

On reflection, I'd say the Joy Division tracks worked better live on the whole. 'Confusion', one of my favourite New Order tracks from 'Substance' didn't work at all, although the final track, 'True Faith', with Hooky's excellent bass work, couldn't have been better. (It was interesting to see his bass becoming more low slung, as it did in his later days with New Order.)

I was glad the Minx was with me, and I think she enjoyed it, but I thought the New Order stuff was going to be better. Still, it has been an amazing three nights, and I'm glad I came to them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.