Ribblehead

I went back up to Kirkby Lonsdale, this morning, taking the route via Sawley Abbey as I was in the Minx's car*. I picked Dan up from Bentham and then Abi from Wray, which were the locations they ended up in after their respective Saturday evenings.

Having dropped Abi to pick up her car in Lancaster, Dan and I had lunch at the Redwell Inn, which, despite it not being far away, I don't think I've ever been to before. It was very oddly decorated, kind of a posh café-pub hybrid, although the food was fine.

Dan and Abi went to visit their mum in Hornby later in the afternoon, so I waited for them in the recently(ish) reopened Royal Oak, which was very pleasant, and I had a glass of wine and read my book until the kids came to pick me up, and we drove up to Ribblehead.

We were having dinner at The Station Inn as an Easter outing. It's a pub that I occasionally used to bring Dan and Abi to for Sunday lunch. The food was always fine then, but this evening it was properly good. I might have to come back again.

*Mine is sounding unwell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.