The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Basking

How would you feel if you had spent five months in the darkness and cool of a fridge, and then two weeks indoors under a lamp without seeing the sun? You might be tempted to lift up your head and bask in the rays. That's what Reggie did this afternoon when I took him out onto the lawn. He's been voraciously eating dandelion leaves this last few days, and I can confirm that all parts are in working order.

I promised I would blip him on his first outing of the year, so here he is, even though I said I would be taking a blip break. I am having a break, the comments are off, and once this is loaded I will just spend a short time catching up with a few people, and then that's it. Thank you for all the supportive comments. I do appreciate them. And though I am very fatigued, I can confirm that I definitely do not have pneumonia.

Spring is moving rapidly now. The first bumblebee queens were prospecting for nest holes. I heard my first willow warblers, and saw my first sand martins and swallows. On the way back from a field visit, we saw an osprey - exactly where we hoped to see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.