Half Way

This was a while ago when we got to the half way cafe in Tucamcari.
I am now in Las Vegas, no, not the Nevada bright lights one, the New Mexico one up in the Canadian escarpment region - confused? I'm not surprised!
After a warm day yesterday we set off early in freezing cold and it hasn't warmed up all day, despite the bright sunshine. The wind has returned, with a vengeance.
As we were approaching, up a steep, very windy road, the escarpment I noticed, what looked like, smoke but I thought must be the cold wind creating a meteorological phenomenon. No again, I was right first time, it is a forest fire, the lady at the garage told me. We are just having a coffee to warm up before setting off for a 1.5 hour ride to Santa Fe and a days rest tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.