dfb24

By dfb24

Cut-out Cookies

I made a double batch of the dough last evening and let it chill overnight. It took me from 8 this morning until 12 noon to roll out the dough, cut the cookies out and get them baked, then 2 hours to get them all decorated and the kitchen all cleaned up. It's my Grandmas' recipe--& family favorite--that I make every year for Christmas, only with Tom's passing in December I didn't make them. Two of my nephews had asked me if I'd brought them when I came for Christmas Dinner, so I promised I'd make them for Easter instead. The Christmas Santa, reindeer, angel, etc. were replaced with more Spring-like shapes, like carrots, hearts, bunnies, etc.,  and I used "Spring Sprinkles" instead of the usual red and green ones. I normally eat all the broken ones--just to make sure they taste okay & won't make anyone sick, mind you--but I gave cookies up for Lent, so I'm "flying blind" on these and hope they taste as they should. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.