Century 21

On This Day In History
1929: Gerry Anderson is born

Quote Of The Day
"When we made Fireball XL5, I'd never heard of NBC, and I didn;t even know what American networks were. I knew that it would be wonderful if the show was successful in America, but I knew nothing about the American networks."
(Gerry Anderson)

Fireball XL5  first aired in 1962, just one year after Yuri Gagarin became the first man to travel in space, and seven years before Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin became the first men to walk on the Moon. Now, here we are in Century 21 and we are coming very close to establishing human colonies on Mars (Captain Scarlet) and building a Moonbase (like Moonbase Alpha in Space 1999.) 

Although Gerry Anderson is no doubt disappointed that nothing like the peaceful world governments envisioned in shows such as Stingray, Thunderbirds and Joe-90 exist, I am sure he would be delighted to see that the space race is well and truly heating up again.

I Wish I Was A Spaceman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.