This is the day

By wrencottage

100 years ago ...

This photo is from the family archives and was taken 100 years ago. It shows my father, aged about 15 months, and his teddy bear. Teddy is sitting in what I imagine to be one of those old high chairs which could be converted into a toddlers' chair and table. The photo was taken in my grandparents' back garden in Tunbridge Wells – the original was sepia, but I've colourised it to make it feel more contemporary.

I chose this photo as it's my 100th blip. I'm truly amazed at how fast these first 100 days have gone! I am so enjoying this site, and will ever be grateful to Honeycombebeach for introducing me to its delights. I had no idea when I joined how much pleasure I would get from it, or how many lovely people I would meet here. 

I'm not able to get out and about much owing to my husband's ill health, so my blips are of necessity mainly my garden, or items in my house, or scenes on the route we take for our daily walk. Nevertheless, I am enjoying reading the wonderful journals posted here, and admiring their accompanying photos, and my life feels enriched and my horizons enlarged as a result. Thank you everyone for being so kind and welcoming, you are a wonderful bunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.