4th Degree Windmill Fan

I'll call him Marine.  He's a 4th-degree cousin of AW's.  I got to know him almost 30 years ago, when I was busy with the family tree for the first time, and we've been in touch since then.  In fact, I'm more in contact with him than AW is.  I visited him today, intending to combine it with a bit of hunting, but the weather dampened any enthusiasm for the hunt, literally and figuratively, so I gave Marine, and his wife Elsa, all my attention.  2.5 hours at his place.  He lives with his son Dan and Dan's wife Dette, and their two daughters Yna and Leia.

Actually, Dan converted his large garage into a spacious and adequately equipped apartment and invited his parents to live with them.  Since Dette is a nurse, the idea is that they would be close enough to Marine and Elsa as they advanced in years.  Everyone considers it a win-win situation.  Marine and Elsa pay rent every month, to ensure their independence.  The entire property altogether is huge, and the garden is one to sigh and die for, including a sunken trampoline and outdoor bubble bath.  The shot was taken in their glass-walled sitting room.  Such a difference from Marine's previous house in Beneden Leeuwen.

While I was out, AW attached one of the accordeon screens in the kitchen.  It had arrived in the morning.  The other screen arrived, too, but the warehouse people forgot the clasps which need to be screwed onto the window frame, so AW phoned about it and they will be delivered another time.  In the evening, I had the usual Wednesday evening (morning in Alabama, New Jersey, and Ecuador) ZOOM meeting, and it was very fruitful and constructive, as usual.  We have decided to give ourselves a week's break, so I'll be seeing them again in two weeks.

A bit of MOOCking, some housework, odds and ends... and an email from a local university asking me if I'd like to apply for one of their vacancies.  Of course, I did.  Whether or not I'll be accepted is something else.  No pressure any more, which is a joy.  I will be happy, though, if I do get the job.  It will only be temporary, good for a year, but that is fine with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.