A BIRTHDAY POEM FOR MR. HCB

A large collage to celebrate
Before we go to church -
My photographs I’ve plundered
And all of them I’ve searched
For shots of a dear and special man
Known as “Mr. HCB”
Who really is quite FAB-U-LOUS
Guess what? He’s now EIGHT-Y!

I know he doesn’t look it
In fact, he looks quite young -
You’ve seen the things he often does
And he’s such a lot of fun!
He hardly ever makes a fuss
Whatever he’s asked to do
I love him very dearly
And I know YOU love him too!

So on this very special day
When he’s no longer Seventy-Nine
I’m very pleased and proud to say
That he is mine - all mine!

But it would be very selfish
Not to share these pics on Blip
So raise a glass, with me - and say
“We hope that you don’t slip…
Especially if you’re drinking Port
Before the day’s half done…
So cheers to you, Mr. HCB
Now you’re an OCTO-GEN-ARI-AN!”

Happy Birthday to my wonderful husband, Blip model, mentor and gardener extraordinaire - have a wonderful day - and as you just said to me "I can do what I like now I'm 80!"  We'll have to see about that! 

With love from Mrs. HCB xxx

This is one of Mr. HCB's favourite quotes:

“You know you’re getting old
     when you stoop to tie your shoelaces
          and wonder what else you could do
               while you’re down there.”
George Burns and Mr. HCB!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.