Adventure to Appleby

As ever, I had a few options up my sleeve but this was the route I wanted to take and the decision was made as I dropped into Dentdale.  I was on my way to Appleby station to catch the train home and simply spent the day meandering through the dales enjoying every moment with barely a breeze to hinder my progress.  It was only my legs at this stage that were slowing me down but I'd bought a bacon butty in Sedbergh that I couldn't eat in one go so I took plenty of moments along here to either pause for a photo or a bite to eat.  I was feeling a bit wrecked by the time I was on the last stretch to Appleby but it was such a beautiful stretch of new road that I all too quickly found myself at my final destination with plenty of time for the train.

I should have stopped at the Coop on the way through as the station is on a hill.  After 20 minutes or so, I managed to convince myself to cycle back down the hill to stock up for the train ride home. Glad I did - think I would have been in all sorts of hangry trouble - maybe even a menace on the train!  As it was, after a picnic and nearly full of beans again, I managed to do the 4 minute run to catch my connecting train home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.