Who's bugging who?

A sparrowhawk caught my eye wheeling around in the sky.  I took some photos and then spotted a crow taking off and putting lots of power into its wing beats to circle higher and higher in hot pursuit.  The sparrowhawk didn't take much notice but as you can see, this went on for some time with the crow less than impressed.  

(Is is a crow, maybe a raven?)

I then had a lovely catch up with Michael the Moors Man who I haven't seen for quite some time.  He was telling me his favourite sound was drumming snipe and I told him I'd heard my first this year on the other side of the moors and didn't know it was a thing.  So, I've also discovered that we do indeed have them on our side of the moors, I've just never heard them.  

On our round, there were also four jays messing around together who I'm convinced were impersonating geese and, as we neared home, I spotted one of them buzzard mewing in a treetop - it's definitely a thing because another guy I met said he'd heard exactly the same in a similar spot. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.