Flossmo

By Flossmo

A Room with a View

The journey from Farnham to the homeland was a lot less fraught than I expected given the media hype that it was going to be the busiest day on the roads for years. The roads were busy but I didn’t encounter any major holdups and the journey was quite uneventful. Radio 4 provided the usual high quality podcasts.

The only slight fly in the ointment was the fact that my aircon has packed up. For the first couple of hours of driving I was very hot and had to do the old fashioned thing of opening the windows. As I got further north the temperature dropped and the problem receded. 

I decided to have a good go at the current fashion of hypermiling. I was surprised how easy it was to improve my mpg - 57 for the journey as a whole which was very pleasing for a large, 10 year  automatic box estate car (albeit diesel). I also had the deep satisfaction of tut tutting at the heavy brakers. Not as good as an electric car, I know but it is a start. And at most it took an extra 30 minutes.

The cottage is as nice as I remember. There was a warm piece of nut loaf and a large piece of chocolate cake waiting for me. The blip is of the view from my living room window and the extra the light on the hill oppposite. What’s not to like?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.