Flossmo

By Flossmo

Lake Vyrnwy

I set my alarm for 6:45. I need not have bothered. In the silence of the countryside the tuneless chirping of a bird right outside of my bedroom window at 6am was enough to get me out of bed. I read for a while. 

I was on my way by 7:45 and walking across the dam at the end of Lake Vyrnwy just before 9. There was hardly a soul around. I found a nice spot under some trees and spent an hour sketching; it was so peaceful. I then moved to a different spot and sketched with watercolours and water from the lake. After a quick cup of coffee from my flask I headed around the lake and walked to the base of the waterfall at Pistyll Rhayader. It was a nice walk but it was clear that more people were arriving although nowhere near as many as I expected. By 1:30 I was happy to leave the area and drove over to my cousin’s for tea in her garden. 

I was back at the cottage by 5 for my evening chat with Mr Flossmo who said he had spent his day working in our garden. Since then, I confess to watching two episodes of Anatomy of a Scandal on Netflix (don’t have Netflix at home). 9 o’clock I will be glued to the TV again to watch episode 5 of Hidden. By then I will be well and truly ready for bed.

Blip is a photograph looking west from the Vyrnwy Dam and the extra the view to the East. The reservoir has been supplying water to Liverpool for well over a hundred years.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.