Flossmo

By Flossmo

Flossmo’s grand day out

I was up early again and on my way by 8 o’clock. The roads were empty and I was on the beach at Barmouth by 9:30. It wasn’t empty but just a sprinkling of dog walkers. The photographs in the extras portray the scene but cannot capture the roar of the surf and the clinking of the pebbles as they were rolled by the tide, nor the feel of the breeze on my face nor the smell of burning wood (yes, someone had lit a fire on the beach) nor the taste of salt from the sea air… or was that from my mini cheddar biscuits. The tide was right in and I walked along the water’s edge and then along the harbour. I sat for a while watching the outflow of water from the estuary which resulted in interesting eddies.

By 12:30 people were piling onto the beach so I left and made my way to the reservoir at Trawsfynnydd. The main blip is a view across the reservoir to the reactor buildings at the now defunct nuclear power station closed in 1991 after three decades in service. There is now a decades long decommissioning programme in place but also a proposal to recommission the site with small scale reactors. The reservoir is beautiful but the site felt eerie.  The local fishing club cafe provided an excellent BLT and cup of tea.

From Trawsfynnedd I drove through the mountains bordering the A470 and back to the cottage along the A5. There were beautiful views, interesting skies and lots of gambolling lambs. 

Since arriving back I have binged the rest of Anatomy of a Scandal. Despite having read the book and knowing the plot and despite mixed reviews, I enjoyed it. 

Another early night is needed.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.