Flossmo

By Flossmo

Moel Y Faen

After two days with a lot of driving I decided to takes things a bit easier today. Also I guessed the roads might be busy with trippers returning home (local website says it was).

Nevertheless, I was at the Ponderosa cafe on the Horseshoe Pass by 9:15 and started the slow walk up the Moel Y Faen hill. It took me about half and hour to reach the top with lots of blip stops (my excuse, anyway) along the way. It was quite breezy at the top so I didn’t linger too long but once back in the lee of the hill I did stop to watch gliders taking off and landing at the nearby North Wales Gliding Club based at Llandegla.

After making the descent somewhat carefully on the loose scree I popped across the road to the cafe for a cup of tea and a Kit-kat. The cafe is a bikers haunt and there were any number of portly older men in racing leathers in the car park admiring one another’s kit. I averted my eyes. The gliders were still flying and I wondered how many people sit and drink their tea and never notice what is happening in the sky.

I spent the afternoon back at the cottage reading, relaxing and making art. It was very pleasant. 

The main photograph is looking roughly east from the top of Moel Y Faen with Liverpool a faint lightness to the far left and the Pondarosa cafe visible in the valley. The other landscape is looking roughly south towards the Shropshire Hills. The third photograph is a chocolate box view of Llangollen from the bridge over the Dee where I stopped to blip on my way to the Horseshoe Pass.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.