Pasque Flower Pilgrimage

Ollie dog and I were at Therfield Heath this morning before 8:30. It was absolutely sublime. No jacket needed as we walked the shining white chalk track to Church Hill to the song of skylarks. (Extras) Meadow pipits were strutting in the dew and I heard and saw my first willow warbler of 2022 in a field maple at the foot of the hill. (Extras)

We climbed the steep incline, the morning light was catching the fluffy stems of the pasque flower blooms, turning them silver. I've never seen these rare plants blooming so prolifically. I've added a montage of images to extras. It includes the sheep that graze this hill after the blooms have faded.

My mother-in-law was born on this day in 1902. I've kept up her culinary traditions for Good Friday. I served the salmon that I poached yesterday to her boy cold for lunch and made an East End style parsley liquor from the poaching stock to go with mussels this evening.   

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.