HNT

Day three of haggis, neeps and tatties. No complaints. Yum yum. All gone now. But, it reminds me of a tale that my pal Ken (who lives in Madrid) told me last weekend.

James (drummer extraordinaire for Swamptrash, Shooglenifty, and pretty much every ad hoc Celtic Connections collaboration) was on a Calmac ferry to the western isles. He’d been hired by some Gaelic performers to provide rhythm and, for sustenance, he was in the queue for some good, Scottish nosh.

He recognised the woman in front of him as none other than Bjork, and they fell into conversation.

“What are you doing on this ferry?” asked James.
“I’m shopping for an island,” she replies. “What would you recommend from the menu?”
“I’ll be having the mince and tatties” quoth he.
“I’ll have the same,” says Bjork. “Oh dear. I don’t seem to have any cash.”

So James, an impoverished, itinerant musician ends up buying an island-bagging superstar her dinner. Whether she indeed acquired an island is not recorded. But it’s a good story nonetheless!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.