Paper Dolls

One thing my mom and I loved to do when I was very young was make paper dolls.  She would help me with the body and I would make paper dresses and hats for the doll.  I made this one recently and found, amazingly, I still like to make paper dolls!  Her arms move and I made a shawl from an old piece of a crochet doily my grandmother made.  She stands up because she is wired to the top of a very old candy dish, also belonging to my grandmother.  I drop the dish and broke it decades ago but held onto the lid.  The piece of lace it is resting on I bought from an elderly lady in St. Petersburg, Russia back in 2005 when Russia wasn't the pariah it is now.  (I've added a paper doll my mom made in 1938, "Ginger".  My mom loved Ginger Rodgers.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.