T. Tiger Delivers an Easter Bouquet to Mom

With sunny weather predicted for Good Friday, my husband and I decided it would be a great time to go visiting my parents, age 91. So we got around and packed the car for an afternoon visit, and decided we'd stop for lunch on the way.

The first place we stopped was Couch's, in McAlevy's Fort, for a fish dinner. Well, the place was packed, and my husband walked out without even ordering. The same thing happened at the McDonald's at the Stop 35 exit on 322. Packed. Lines. Crowded. No masks. No food anytime soon.

There is an Italian restaurant in McAlisterville called Sal's Original Italian Pizza. We were running out of hope when we stopped there, but shortly, my husband brought out a very nice Italian hoagie, which we demolished while sitting in my car in the parking lot. Sometimes food can be hard to come by when traveling!

Then we arrived at my parents' house, where we had a several-hour visit, chatting it up on all topics in the known Universe. At one point, my husband and my dad were going at it, verbally, in what was overall a pretty friendly exchange. Dad: I don't want your freedom! Husband: I don't want your obligations!  (It was like being in a room with Pacino and DeNiro.) As my mom and I just sat and smiled at each other. . . .

T. Tiger had insisted that my mom needed some Easter flowers. And so before we had left home, we'd picked a small bouquet of tiny yellow daffodils and purple chionodoxa. You may see my mom holding both T. Tiger and the Easter bouquet in the photo above. Do you see how pleased the Tiger is to be back in her arms again?

This song, which my husband sings to me, I am dedicating to my mother now. Here is INXS, with Beautiful Girl.

P.S. On my morning walk in the Scotia Barrens, I found pollen rainbows atop one of the vernal pools. The conditions have to be exactly right and the light has to be a certain way for them to appear. This is a thing I have only seen one time before. It is pure magic! You may see a photo in the extras. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.