Theleens

By Theleens

Weighing It Up

When I walk home after work, I often think of Paul Larson the painter and Markus Innocenti the filmmaker. Although different creative mediums they are both 'light-chasers'. Light is everything when working with images, moving or stationary.

It was never more obvious when we were filming the video 'Head Down' in February. We had me rockin' in an old wooden 6ft x 6ft freight elevator, the kind that have vertical wooden slats, and have two simple buttons: Start, and Stop. Markus was unable to press the buttons and still record me on film. So, he asked if Paul could help by holding one of those gold reflector disks and that he was to capture light as much as possible yet stay out of shot and out of the way of Markus who would be stealthily walking around this moving cage.

I tell you, I found it hard not to laugh: Paul was like some kind of crouching tiger and Markus was up close and personal. Two guys in a cage, a guitar, a boombox and me, who is forever smiling or having a laugh.

Anyways, I realised how easy it was for Paul to help Markus because Paul was also a scholar in the ways of light.

So, here's me daydreaming, thinking about this, all because I saw a lamp post across the street reflecting onto a building. I knew I'd regret it if I didn't cross this busy street and take a shot.

I'm glad I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.