Relic

Day 5 has brought me to Sheffield, and a Holiday Inn (which has seen better days) in next door Rotherham (which has seen better days). 

Usually I stay in Sheffield city centre if I am here for ice hockey, but this year the tournament clashes with a big snooker event, and city centre hotels were wanting daft prices - if they had vacancies. 

Ice Sheffield is a great facility, but is in the Don Valley at the epicentre of post Thatcher England. Retail parks. Shopping centres. Leisure parks. Burger King. Taco Bell. 

Junior's team is doing quite well, but look unlikely to win the tournament. Their last game today is about 22:30 and their first one tomorrow is just before 9:00. 

The Blip is of a bit of industrial street art in the Ice Sheffield park. It is one of those things which contain molten steel and then it gets poured out - into moulds I suppose. 

I was given a tour of a steelworks when I was 13. It was quite an experience. Good motivation to study hard, pass the exams and (hopefully) not have to work in one.  

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.