Chronic anthropomorphism - AGAIN?

Grim determination rules OK?  In view of the weather I eventually started to turn bits of garden, as an old bloke I used to know would say, "soil side up".
As I  worked around the edge I saw evidence of the existence of a wee Cyclamen.  My technique was to lift small "sodlets" as I went, and bash off as much soil as possible, then put it aside for the rest of the soil to rub off later when totally dry.

Shock - HORROR! Where's the Corm? 
As I teased the soil free from the roots it became apparent there was no visible Corm. - Next task - find out how deep the Corm was actually buried in order for it to struggle  gamely back to the surface. If possible.

Up to now, all others I've seen, of whatever size, have sat on top of the soil "thuswise."

One of these years, I'll remember to show the tightly coiled springs of stalk you might be able to make out stretching out as far as possible before depositing their seeds as far from "Mam" as they can reach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.