Sunset

Mr D sold his old car today so he is very happy. I had a walk into town as I needed some butter so I could make a simnel cake. My first action was to microwave the mixed dried fruit in fresh orange juice then let it cool down. After lunch I started the job of repotting my tomatoes into large pots. We need more compost! I have an awful lot of plants.
Then I returned to the cake …finished it off and put it in the oven. Two hours later the simnel cake is done. It smells wonderful, not as pretty as Sunflower’s (we have a blip snap - she posted her daughter’s simnel cake today) but I just have a layer of marzipan through the middle of the cake. I find that marzipan on the top as well is too sweet for me. I am looking forward to tasting it … Sadly it’s not wise to cut it before it cools down as molten marzipan burns the tongue :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.