Paladian

By Paladian

Bee's Wings

I was so cross with myself this morning. A fly landed on my hand and I brushed it off without thinking. I was in mid-brush, when I realised it was a really different kind of fly, and I should have blipped it. Bugger!!

The moral is - look first, brush second.

So, following on from my hairy-eyeballed bee from yesterday, I thought it would be a good idea to illustrate bee wings. Bees have four wings, but generally you don't see four, and if you saw one on a flower, you would swear it only had two wings.

It took me about 20 minutes to get this shot - you wouldn't believe how hard it is to photograph a bee showing its wings at rest. I think the little pair of wings are generally parked underneath the big pair of wings, or they are parked precisely alongside the big wings, and in either case you would assume that there was only 2 wings.

Actually I don't have a clue what I'm talking about. But this bee definitely has four wings.

Bigger, better wings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.