Paladian

By Paladian

Spirit of KL

No, I don't mean Kuala Lumpur - I mean KiwiLizzie.

A few weeks ago I was channelling TeeJay who helped me find a beautiful little Eastern Spinebill in the backyard. Today it was KiwiLizzie's turn.

KiwiLizzie and TeeJay are bird spotters par excellence. They really are. So today when I heard a north country accent insisting that I look up, I wasn't going to ignore it was I! You might say I was imagining it, but I swear I wasn't.

Gazing up into the trees, I couldn't see a thing other than leaves. But just this one leaf looked a bit odd. So I looked through the lens, and sure enough it was a little black blob of a bird, with its back to me. I waited and waited, and took some 20 shots of it, before it heard the clicking and turned round to eyeball me.

WooHoo, and Woohoo again. Mental cartwheels. I had to get back home to be sure. But it's a Musk Lorikeet, (Glossopsitta concinna) a bird I have been looking for for the longest time. And I hope a new one for BlipBigYear.

I can see you!

Here's the details according to Mr. Wiki.

The Musk Lorikeet (Glossopsitta concinna) is 22 cm (8.5 in) long. It is mainly green and it is identified by its red forehead, blue crown and a distinctive yellow band on its wing. Both upper and lower mandibles of the beak are red at the tip and darker near its base. The blue area on the crown of the female is smaller and paler than seen on the male.

Distribution and habitat

Musk Lorikeets are found in eastern New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania. Range: Uncommon nomad in woodlands and drier forests in south-east mainland.


Life has caught up with me a bit, and I'm really sorry but I did hardly any comments yesterday. Thank you all so much for propelling my Bee's Wings into the spotlight. It's really appreciated. It's turning out to be a bit of a busy week, so if I don't get to everyone, I apologise in advance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.