pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Nobbly Bobbly

I have mentioned in the past about those days as a parent where you just get it right.

If you get just one of those days out of every couple of weeks, you take it, are grateful for it and move on. If you get three of those days on the trot, you are incredibly lucky and should invest in some lottery tickets and/or high-risk stocks at the earliest possible opportunity*, because life is clearly going your way.

That’s what happened today with a 5k run under my belt before 10am, my lovely little family headed over to my sisters’s house to celebrate our niece’s/cousin’s 5th birthday. We smacked/physically assaulted the piñata, we passed parcels, we pinned tails (incredibly poorly) on Easter bunnies and ate some really good cake. Throughout it all, the children played beautifully together and The Eldest was charming company as she continued her journey into adulthood as she sat chatting with the grownups.

I feel like I cemented my Unkle Dunkle status today when my niece heard an ice cream van and asked if it was hot enough for ice cream. We agreed that it was, but on being informed by my sister that I needed to be quick, I leapt from my seat and with the grace of a highly trained Grand National entrant, sprinted barefoot down the road to find the ice cream van. The vendor looked a little alarmed as I charged down the middle of the road waving my arms before slamming into the van and panting “Stop! Niece. Nobbly Bobbly……please.”

A round of ice lollies and ‘99s followed and were duly dispensed and demolished as we meandered back to the house to enjoy the rest of the afternoon basking in the sunshine.

Glorious day of love and family fun. The sensation of feeling so relaxed and content with my little lot is one I am enjoying and am desperate to hang on to. With so much darkness in the world right now, it has never been more important to take a moment to bask in the glow of the light wherever you may find it.


Photo credit: my mum.
 

*this is terrible financial advice as the value of your investment may go up or down and you will almost certainly not win the lottery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.