Cherry blossom and ruins

One of Sheffield's many derelict small factories, in the Kelham Island area where I sometimes go for short photo-walks.

Otherwise... I keep myself in touch with news from Ukraine in various ways, but the one that's most vivid for me is listening to Andrey Kurkov's "Letter from Ukraine". Kurkov's  most well-known novel here is 'Death and the Penguin', though there are many more.

He brings a novelist's observations to it all, picking up on small details as well as the big picture.  His letter from 15 April is entitled "I always thought I was born after the war, not before."   The link for it is here - I really recommend a listen, for anyone who hasn't already found the series:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/series/m0015hx4

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.