Easter Memories...

It was a rather low key but busy Easter here today - a leisurely early breakfast, then a couple hours spent chatting with my neighbour over our usual Sunday coffee, and finally, a visit by my brother who came out from the city for the afternoon and for dinner... and yes, I actually prepared a meal - which meant that my kitchen saw much more action that it usually does on a Sunday! Or on any day for that matter.....
 
There was a lot of reminiscing today - with both my neighbour and then my brother - about the Easters of our youth - the rituals...a new outfit or parts thereof to wear to church, chocolate bunnies, coloured eggs and little gifts in a basket, and a special family dinner enjoyed at the dining room table set up with the "good" china. Today was hardly like that, but I did at least set the table with Mom's good china, and my brother brought chocolate! 

In honour of the day, I also hung my lap quilt  - the one in my collection closest in colour and theme to spring and to Easter..( extra). It will have a short stay up on that wall though, as it is useful to have handy in the event of  cold breezes whilst lounging outdoors in the sun! 

On another note: It was a day I did not turn on CNN for war news...and now I am afraid to find out tomorrow what I missed...It is SO hard to NOT think of the horrors that are happening in Ukraine..so hard to celebrate the day when so many are suffering...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.