One way traffic

By Mobius

Evensong

Long pondered, I went to my first evensong for a few years, prompted by yesterdays service and chatting to a friend M who is the secretary of the SMCA (choir association). 

The choir sits at the far end of the "choir" section of the church near the screen, with organ pipes above, which separates it from the nave I was in yesterday. The folding seat and stand (just right of centre) was used by the leader of the choir, who also did the chanting. I sat 2nd row from the back on the right hand side, next to the choir.

Led this week by the inspirational canon, who I now know is the Canon Missioner. Looking it up It's a new post designed to make the church more accessible and friendly; he seems to have the perfect character for it. Prayers for Ukraine, as at every church service currently.

Tonight a visiting choir performed "The Christopher Wren Singers" gowned and with sashes (stoles I think) denoting rank. They marched into the choir singing which I always find magical. Glorious polyphonic singing, organ music and solo chanting for over an hour. Just heavenly (excuse the pun, but apt) and so relaxing.

Fitness
Pleased that I managed to swing a mattock for most of a two hour stint, continuing to clear out the roots from our felled trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.