Surprise

I have an interim period between leaving Mozambique and needing to be in East Africa after which the job will really start kicking off. I’ve decided to come to Cape Town, because it’s epic (if you have the means to enjoy it).

In Johannesburg I paid excess baggage with someone called Surprise. The surprise was I then got issued with a boarding pass for an earlier flight than I had booked and I only realised as I was absent-mindedly meandering through the security queue. Cue far too much rushing around between counters trying to explain that I wanted to be on the same flight as planned, along with my luggage. A supervisor returned to say they’d actually loaded my bags onto the imminent flight, which by that point was due to leave ten minutes later. With the help of a dude from check-in I was spirited through the restricted access area to make the flight. This put paid to a chilled morning but in the end delivered me to Cape Town earlier than planned.

I found my way to Hout Bay, the suburb I have booked to stay, and enjoyed a few short walks in the afternoon to get to know the area. There is a large harbour that was quite deserted and desolate but was pleasing at sunset with the mountains in the background still bathed in light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.