Tchau, for now

Correctly described by Michelle as a ‘tumultuous period’, today marked my official departure after the stint in Mozambique, until I can return in an official capacity with my new job.

In tumultuous situations and despite needing to part ways with the original role I came here for, it’s worth reviewing the positives, of which there have been many in this wonderful country:
* Speaking Portuguese
* Visiting all but one of Mozambique’s provinces including some off the beaten track locations; I feel like I know Mozambique better than I knew Cambodia after living there
* Widening my perspectives on the personal life rollercoaster and society’s challenges more broadly
* Advancing in our conservation projects in various ways, although I wish I hadn’t been stretched so thin
* Making important connections in the sector and securing a new job that will enable me to keep coming back here as a visitor
* Never (or only rarely) being cold

It is a Mozambican public holiday for Dia da Mulher (Women’s Day) and all of the check-in agents at the airport were decked out in flamboyant capulanas, a sarong-like traditional garment. As I had an excess baggage charge of around 80 dollars there was an odd moment where the agent said in hushed tones that the charge could be lower if I slipped her some cash rather than bother with the official airline desk. I decided not to partake in the offer so that my parting gift to Mozambique would be to maintain a strict approach to such matters.

I admit that it wouldn’t make me feel bad morally for a wealthy airline to lose money to graft, as it probably pays its staff too little and profiteers a lot with arbitrary costs per kilo for excess baggage. However graft and corruption are such negative and pervasive aspects of life that I can’t morally contribute to the practice. Overall they destroy the economy and erode the functioning of institutions and I’m more bothered by that aspect than the takings of an airline.

On the flight out of Mozambique after one’s visa has been rescinded is perhaps an odd moment to start reading A Short History of Mozambique, a book I’ve had on my shelf for a long time but never started. However this is what I could be found doing.

In Johannesburg I donned a jacket for the first time in months and it was a strange sensation. The next chapter beckons. We shall see what it throws my way.

As I departed my apartment I took a shot of Mizé, one of the guards, in front of the building. It’s been a good little pad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.