Flowering!

I don't know why this clump of rhubarb always puts up lots of flower stalks. None of the others do. This is the only one I bought and was supposed to be good rhubarb; the others were gifts from neighbours who were lifting and dividing their over-enthusiastic unnamed varieties. It's all growing fast - there is probably already plenty to pick and cook (and I still have lots of last year's in the freezer and plenty of last year's jam in the pantry).

P has planted Charlotte potatoes today; I have broad bean plants waiting to go in the garden, lettuces coming along nicely in modules, and various herbs grown from seed which I will plant in large tubs and keep on the balcony or deck - basil, oregano, tarragon, sweet marjoram and parsley so far. Tomato and aubergine plants are catching up after the late start, though the brassica and beetroot seedlings are still very small. There is so much to do though - many more things to sow, the fruit bed overgrown with grass and weeds, still lots of old pots to clear on the deck. J's PAs are back from tomorrow, so I hope to make a bit more progress this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.