M.A.T.H.

We had Pinakbet and fried Tilapia for lunch. B is from Ilocos Norte and I have not tasted a better "Pinakbet."  :) We live in Camarines Sur (South/Southern part of the country) where the specialty dish is usually made or prepared with lots of coconut and chili as it is what we have in abundance. When I first  transferred from Mary Cause of Our Joy Catholic School (in Soldier's Hills Village, Putatan, Muntinlupa), I was "traumatized" by having too much "free food" from neighbors which are heavy on oil. I was teased and constantly bullied by my classmates for gaining weight. __________ would even pinch my "bilbil" (belly fat) while ___________ says I'm too dramatic. I would usually just try not to say anything until I go home and have the chance to "vent" to my Papa. I'll not deny it, when I'm angry or pissed, most of the time, I find it difficult not to use swear words. However, these days as my "vision" and perspective has shifted, am now always thankful for "blessings" from our neighbors (who are in reality, extended family. We (B and I) live inside the Pinto Compound along San Juan Bautista. Outside the compound, we have the Papica, Requinta and the other "Pintos."  I have not memorized the entire lineage as of yet but am learning it gradually through daily walks and conversations with "strangers" using Filipino and an attempt to relearn how to speak Bikol Central. I understand basic Bikol and even wrote maudlin/cheesy/corny poems more than 20 years ago to my High School "crushes" and former beaus. 
*Humor:
3 years ago, pre-Covid, I brought my TMR (The Morning Rush) Top 10 books to make my friends laugh. There is even a page there which collects top beauty pageant quotes/common responses/introduction. In mind, I wanted to tell this to Mel (Melissa Basmayor) and Joey (Joana Verdeflor): Hi, I'm Sofia Olga from _______________, born in QC (Quezon City), raised in ___________, Ex ng Bayan! (If you do not get or understand the joke, I'll not attempt to translate it for you.)
***
Featured photo is the Tapsilogan directly in front of the Pinto Compound's main entrance. M.A.T.H. is short for Meryenda, Almusal, Tanghalian, Hapunan. Months ago, I tried buying from their stall/store and brought it home. Papa made me laugh when he said: Dati, AlmuTangHap lang ngayon pati Meryenda kasama na! He is referring presumably to how most construction workers and soldiers/guards eat when on duty: OMAD style. 


***
Thank you for passing by. Have a good one! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.